Elizabeth I

Elizabeth I

Sep. 29, 2005
Your rating: 0
0 0 votes

Seasons and episodes

1Season 1 Sep. 29, 2005




Helen Mirren isQueen Elizabeth I
Queen Elizabeth I
Jeremy Irons isEarl of Leicester
Earl of Leicester
Hugh Dancy isRobert Devereux
Robert Devereux
Ben Pullen isSir Walter Raleigh
Sir Walter Raleigh
Charlotte Asprey isFrances Walsingham
Frances Walsingham
Diana Kent isLady Essex
Lady Essex
Geoffrey Streatfeild isSir Anthony Babington
Sir Anthony Babington

Video trailer


Elizabeth I is a two-part 2005 British historical drama television miniseries directed by Tom Hooper, written by Nigel Williams, and starring Helen Mirren as Elizabeth I of England. The miniseries covers approximately the last 24 years of her nearly 45-year reign. Part 1 focuses on the final years of her relationship with the Earl of Leicester, played by Jeremy Irons. Part 2 focuses on her subsequent relationship with the Earl of Essex, played by Hugh Dancy.

The series originally was broadcast in the United Kingdom in two two-hour segments on Channel 4. It later aired on HBO in the United States, CBC and TMN in Canada, ATV in Hong Kong, ABC in Australia, and TVNZ Television One in New Zealand.

The series went on to win Emmy, Peabody, and Golden Globe Awards. The same year, Helen Mirren starred as Queen Elizabeth II in The Queen, with which she dominated the award season.

Elizabeth I
Original title Elizabeth I
TMDb Rating 7.3 59 votes
First air date Sep. 29, 2005
Last air date Oct. 06, 2005
Seasons 1
Episodes 2
Average Duration 100 minutes

Similar titles

The Boarding School: Las Cumbres
The Magicians
V Wars
Day Break
Striking Out
Saving Hope
Mrs. America
Emily Owens, M.D

Leave a comment

Name *
Add a display name
Email *
Your email address will not be published